1. K-State home
  2. »K-State Research and Extension
  3. »Leavenworth County
  4. »About Us
  5. »Extension Council

Leavenworth County

County Extension Council

The local Extension program is guided by the Extension Council comprised of Program Development Committees (PDC) for the four program areas: Agriculture/Natural Resources, Family & Consumer Sciences, 4-H Youth Development and Community Development. The members of these committees are elected according to the Kansas Extension Council law.

The Extension Council represents the citizens of Leavenworth County, Kansas. They are the “voice” of the community, giving the agents feedback and guidance on local programs. The Council is made up of business people, community leaders, farmers, home makers, teachers, and others who have an interest in Extension.

If you would be interested in serving on the Extension Council, please contact an Extension staff member or any of the current Council members for more information. You will need to complete the Consent to Nominate form and return it to the Extension Office. Leavenworth County conducts the Extension Council election at the time of the Leavenworth County Fair.

Leavenworth County Extension Council members are:

Agriculture/Natural Resources: Steve Buffo, Dirck Hoagland, Kevin Miller, Jacob Thomas, Diana Tuttle, Cale Wiehe

Family & Consumer Sciences: Rhonda Berry, Cathy Forge, Stella Green, Kendra Knight, Jo Nell Thomas, Tammara VanTuyl

4-H Youth Development: Linda Coppola, Brian Habjan, Katy Langford, Katie Lueck, Austin Reynolds, John Edwards

Community Development: John Bradford, Tim Goetz, Joy Kromer, Carol Page, Carrie Ritchey, Lana Wiehe

The Extension Council Executive Board provides oversight to the total Extension program. The 9 member board is elected from the 24 member Extension Council.

2018 Extension Council Executive Board:

Tim Goetz, chairman

Jacob Thomas, vice-chairman

Jo Nell Thomas, secretary

Tammara VanTuyl, treasurer

Board Members: Dirck Hoagland, Cale Wiehe, Kendra Knight, Stella Green, Austin Reynolds

Link to Resources for Council and Board Members

Partnership Meeting

2018 Partnership Meeting

Pictured from Left to Right: Chelsi Myer (FCS Agent), Stella Green, Karol Lohman (Ag Agent), Brenda Taxeras (4-H Agent), Tim Goetz, Jacob Thomas, & Cecil Mashburn